What’s the worst that can happen?

The chair of the search committee, who was seated across the table from me, had begun looking at me curiously, as if to say, “Is everything all right?” .. Before I could do or say anything, I leaned over the table and threw up—directly on the department chair.

Talk about mortified. I ran from the conference room, hand at my mouth, continuing to regurgitate. The search chair, remembering that I had no idea where I was or how to get to a bathroom, followed me out. She yelled “to the right” and “turn left” until I found the women’s restroom. Once inside, she held my hair as I emptied the contents of my stomach into the nearest garbage can.

During that time, she was also introducing me to other college faculty members who were entering the restroom. It went something like this: “Dr. Reybold [on her way to use the toilet], this is Dr. Trepal [head in the garbage can] who is interviewing with us today.” [link]

Leave a Reply

